Those who drive without a license in Georgia can get arrested. Following an arrest, someone found driving without a license can face jail time or a fine. This individual can also have their license suspended.
There is no excuse for driving without a license in Georgia. At Barrios Virgüez Attorneys, we help auto accident victims in Georgia pursue damages against unlicensed drivers. Our car accident attorneys can answer common questions surrounding the ramifications of driving without a license in Georgia.
What Are the Consequences of Driving without a License in Georgia?
The consequences of driving without a license in Georgia vary. To understand these consequences, consider the following scenarios in which an individual can be found driving without a license in Georgia:
A Driver Is Operating a Motor Vehicle without Ever Having Received a License
If an unlicensed driver is found behind the wheel, this individual may be arrested. In addition, this individual can be charged with a misdemeanor that results in up to 12 months of jail time or a fine of up to $1,000. If convicted, it may be difficult for this individual to get a license down the line.
A Driver Is Operating a Motor Vehicle with a Suspended License
Someone who is found operating a motor vehicle with a suspended license faces more severe penalties than an individual who never received a license. Driving with a suspended license can lead to a minimum of two days in jail and a $500 fine. If a person is found guilty of driving with a suspended license more than once, this individual can receive up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.
A Driver Is Operating a Motor Vehicle without a License and Causes an Accident
When an unlicensed driver causes an accident, the ramifications are severe for all involved. The driver can receive jail time and a fine. If the driver is found to have acted negligently behind the wheel and the auto accident caused injuries or fatalities, this individual can face criminal charges.
For those who suffer monetary or non-monetary losses due to a Georgia auto accident caused by an unlicensed driver, seek legal help. At this point, it can be beneficial to hire an experienced Georgia car accident lawyer. This allows an individual to pursue the maximum amount of damages possible from the driver responsible for an auto accident.
For a free legal consultation, call 678-888-2222
Can You Sue an Unlicensed Driver in Georgia?
An individual can file a personal injury lawsuit against an unlicensed driver in Georgia. This individual can do so if the driver caused an auto accident that results in economic or non-economic damages. In this scenario, the individual has up to two years to file their lawsuit.
Before filing a lawsuit against an unlicensed driver in Georgia, consult with an attorney. It is a good idea to find an attorney who possesses comprehensive experience with auto accident cases. This lawyer can review an individual’s personal injury claim and offer personalized legal recommendations.
If an individual moves forward with an auto accident lawsuit against an unlicensed driver, plan accordingly. Do not expect a fast resolution to this lawsuit. Rather, it may take months or years before a plaintiff and their attorney get the opportunity to present their case in court.
Should You Accept a Settlement Offer from an Unlicensed Driver in Georgia?
There can be times when an individual driving without a license in Georgia causes an accident and gets sued. In these instances, the defendant may try to settle the lawsuit out of court. This allows the defendant to accept responsibility for the accident and pay only a portion of the damages requested by the plaintiff.
If a plaintiff is presented with an auto accident case settlement offer, do not accept it right away. Instead, a plaintiff should review the offer with their attorney. This allows a plaintiff to weigh the pros and cons of accepting the offer and make an informed decision on how to proceed.
The plaintiff in a car accident case is under no obligation to accept a settlement offer. If a settlement proposal falls short of the plaintiff’s expectations, this individual can reject it. From here, the plaintiff and their attorney can continue to prepare for a court date.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
How Much Money Can Be Awarded in a Georgia Auto Accident Case that Involves an Unlicensed Driver?
There are no caps on economic and non-economic damages that can be awarded in Georgia personal injury cases. This means an individual can file a personal injury lawsuit against an unlicensed driver for any amount. Prior to pursuing damages, it helps to assess the impact of the auto accident to date.
For example, an unlicensed driver can cause a car accident that results in a significant injury to a bystander. If this happens, the bystander may require costly medical treatments to recover from their injury. The bystander can sue the driver responsible for the accident and seek damages relating to any medical costs.
A Georgia car accident lawyer can help a plaintiff decide how much to seek in damages. The lawyer can review any damages the plaintiff has suffered as a result of an auto accident. Next, the attorney can help the plaintiff submit a legal claim for damages that meets their expectations.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Do You Need to Hire a Georgia Car Accident Lawyer to Pursue Damages from an Unlicensed Driver?
A Georgia auto accident lawyer can help an individual get the most value out of a personal injury claim. The attorney works diligently on their client’s behalf throughout the duration of their auto accident case. This lawyer ensures the plaintiff can present a strong case in court.
Not all Georgia car accident lawyers deliver the same results. It is paramount to find a Georgia car accident attorney who puts the needs of their clients first. This lawyer has received positive feedback and continues exploring ways to do right by them.
Barrios Virgüez Attorneys helps Georgia auto accident victims in any way possible. Our lawyers are available to help car accident victims at each stage of their litigation. For more information or to request a consultation, please contact us today.
Call or text 678-888-2222 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form